The Black Caps’ squad will depart for Bangladesh on August 23 and will play a practice match on August 29.

Tom Latham
Tom Latham. (Photo by Peter Meecham/Getty Images)

Tom Latham is set to lead New Zealand in their upcoming ODIs and T20Is against Bangladesh and Pakistan. Kane Williamson, the full-time skipper, won’t be available for the two tours.  Recently, they also announced a 15-member squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup in the United Arab Emirates.

The Black Caps are scheduled to tour Bangladesh for five T20Is to be played from September 1 to 10. The same squad will also play a three-match T20I series in India later this year.

Interestingly, none of the members in the T20 WC team features in the squad for the Bangladesh tour. Later in September, the Kiwis are also scheduled to play three ODIs and five T20Is against Pakistan in Rawalpindi and Lahore.

New Zealand pick 32 players for the bilateral series

Ross Taylor, the veteran right-handed batter, isn’t a part of either of the tours. Taylor was initially picked for the Pakistan ODIs but keeping in mind the quarantine protocols, he decided to stay back home to prepare for the Test series in India. A total of 32 players have been picked for the upcoming Bangladesh and Pakistan tours. Wellington speedster Ben Sears and Canterbury all-rounder Cole McConchie are the two new faces in their setup.

The Black Caps’ squad will depart for Bangladesh on August 23 and will play a practice match on August 29 at the Bangladesh Krira Shikkha Protisthan Ground in Savar. David White, the NZC chief executive, talked about prioritising the safety of the national cricketers and the support staff in the unprecedented times during the COVID-19 pandemic.

“The need to safeguard the well-being of our players and support staff is now very real, and we’ve endeavoured to do this by carefully managing their workloads over this winter’s massive playing programme,” he said.

New Zealand squad for Bangladesh T20s and Pakistan ODIs

Tom Latham (c) (wk), Finn Allen, Hamish Bennett, Tom Blundell (wk), Doug Bracewell, Colin de Grandhomme, Jacob Duffy, Matt Henry (ODI only), Scott Kuggeleijn, Cole McConchie. Henry Nicholls, Ajaz Patel, Rachin Ravindra, Ben Sears (T20 only), Blair Tickner, Will Young

New Zealand squad for Pakistan T20Is

Tom Latham (c) (wk), Finn Allen, Todd Astle, Hamish Bennett, Tom Blundell (wk), Mark Chapman, Colin de Grandhomme, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Daryl Mitchell, Ajaz Patel, Ish Sodhi, Ben Sears, Blair Tickner, Will Young


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *