Alex Carey will lead Australia in this series.

Bangladesh Cricket Team
Bangladesh Cricket Team. (Photo by JEKESAI NJIKIZANA/AFP via Getty Images)

The 2021 edition of the T20 World Cup is just a couple of months away and all participating teams are busy finalizing their best combination. As a result, the cricket calendar has been and will be dominated by T20I matches ahead of the global event. Australia and Bangladesh have also played many T20I games in the recent past and the two teams will be up against each other in their upcoming assignment.

Bangladesh will host Australia in a five-match T20I series, starting on August 3 (Tuesday).  All the matches will take place at the Shere Bangla National Stadium in Dhaka, and both teams would be raring to emerge victoriously. The Bangladesh Tigers are coming off a successful tour of Zimbabwe where they won six of the seven games across all formats.

On the other hand, Australia toured West Indies for their last assignment. While they suffered a thumping 4-1 defeat in the T20I series, they walked away with a 2-1 triumph in the ODI leg.

Bangladesh vs Australia Team News

Australia has a depleted squad for this series and it would be interesting to see how they perform. While seven Aussie players had already pulled out of West Indies and Bangladesh tour, regular skipper Aaron Finch will not participate in the series due to a knee injury. Alex Carey will lead the side in his absence and the southpaw has a point to prove.

Players like Mitchell Marsh and Mitchell Starc were in good form against West Indies and they would be critical to Australia’s success in the tour. Notably, this series is a great chance for young and inexperienced Australian players to shine and stake a claim in the squad for the global event.

On the other hand, it’s a great chance for Bangladesh to register a T20I series victory over Australia. This will definitely boost their morale ahead of the T20 World Cup. However, their job won’t be easy by any means as the Aussies still have many potent T20 players in the mix.

Moreover, veteran wicketkeeper-batsman Mushfiqur Rahim and opener Tamim Iqbal won’t be participating in the series. Hence, experienced players like skipper Mahmudullah, Shakib Al Hasan, and Mustafizur Rahman need to step up against the Men in Yellow.

Here’s all you need to know about Australia tour of Bangladesh:

T20I Series Schedule

August 3 –1st T20I – Dhaka – 5:30 PM IST

August 4 –2nd T20I – Dhaka – 5:30 PM IST

August 6 –3rd T20I – Dhaka – 5:30 PM IST

August 7 –4th T20I – Dhaka – 5:30 PM IST

August 9 –5th T20I – Dhaka – 5:30 PM IST



Josh Philippe, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, Ashton Agar, Wes Agar, Alex Carey, Andrew Tye, Matthew Wade, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood, Moises Henriques, Mitchell Marsh, Ben McDermott, Dan Christian, Riley Meredith, Ashton Turner, Jason Behrendorff

Reserves: Nathan Ellis, Tanveer Sangha


Mahmudullah (c), Shakib Al Hasan, Nurul Hasan, Taskin Ahmed, Shoriful Islam, Taijul Islam, Mohammad Naim, Mohammad Saifuddin, Mustafizur Rahman (fitness permitting), Afif Hossain, Rubel Hossain, Mohammad Mithun, Mosaddek Hossain, Soumya Sarkar, Shamim Hossain, Nasum Ahmed, Mahedi Hasan.

Broadcast Details

Fans in India can switch to the FanCode app to catch the matches live.


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *