Earlier, the PCB slammed the BCCI for allegedly threatening foreign players over taking part in the KPL.

Sourav Ganguly and Jay Shah
Sourav Ganguly and Jay Shah. (Photo Source: Twitter)

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has asked the International Cricket Council (ICC) to not recognise the Kashmir Premier League (KPL), scheduled to get underway from August 6. The matches will take place in the Muzaffarabad and the likes of Shahid Afridi, Shadab Khan and others will lead their respective teams in the championship.

The BCCI complaint seems to be based on the status of Kashmir as a disputed territory. Since the year1947, India and Pakistan have been at loggerheads regarding Kashmir. Both nations control parts of the region and have been involved in several wars, adding to the political turmoil. In cricketing circles, India and Pakistan haven’t played a bilateral series since 2013.

Earlier, the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) slammed the BCCI for allegedly threatening foreign players over taking part in the KPL. Former South Africa cricketer Herschelle Gibbs lashed out at the Indian board as well. Moreover, Monty Panesar, the retired England skipper, has pulled out of the tournament as he wishes to pursue a sports media career in India.

PCB hits out at the BCCI

“The PCB considers that the BCCI has brought the game into disrepute by issuing warnings to multiple ICC Members to stop their retired cricketers from featuring in the Kashmir Premier League, further threatening they will not be allowed entry into India for cricket-related work,” the PCB was quoted as saying in a statement.

“Such conduct from the BCCI is completely unacceptable, against the preamble of the Spirit of Cricket and sets a dangerous precedence, which can neither be tolerated nor ignored. The PCB will raise this matter at the appropriate ICC forum and also reserves the right to take any further action that is available to us within the ICC charter,” the statement added.

Sri Lanka’s Tilakaratne Dilshan, England’s Matt Prior and Phil Mustard, and West Indies’ Tino Best are a few others players, who have been signed for the KPL. Five teams- Mirpur, Kotli, Bagh, Muzaffarabad- in the tournament were named after cities in the region.

The sixth team is formed of overseas cricketers. The squads were selected in the draft last month. With four days left for its start, further developments surrounding the league remains to be seen.


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *