India Legends, led by Sachin Tendulkar, won the inaugural edition beating Sri Lanka Legends.

India Legends
India Legends. (Photo Source: Twitter)

The second edition of the much followed Road Safety World Series is likely to be held from January 9 to February 16. Legendary cricketers from six countries – India, Sri Lanka, South Africa, West Indies, England and Bangladesh – turn back the clock in the tournament. India Legends, led by Sachin Tendulkar, won the inaugural edition which was played in two legs due to the pandemic. The first season commenced last year and was stopped midway due to COVID-19 outbreak.

The remaining matches was played earlier this year but Australia Legends didn’t participate and they were replaced by a team from Bangladesh. India hosted the inaugural season of the Road Safety World Series which was organised to create awareness about the safety rules on the road.

If the reports are to be believed, discussions are going on for Sri Lanka to host the tournament next year. However, nothing is confirmed yet. Apart from Sri Lanka, UAE and South Africa are also in the line to host the RSWS and it remains to be seen who earns the hosting rights of the competition.

India beat Sri Lanka in the final in March 2021

Earlier this year in March, India defeated Sri Lanka in the final in a close game. It seemed the rematch of the 2011 World Cup Final between the two teams as a lot of players from that game featured in that game. After being put in to bat first, India were in a spot of bother at 78/3 in the 11th over of the innings. But then Yuvraj Singh and Yusuf Pathan rolled back the clock with a stunning partnership. The duo added 85 runs in less than 8 overs to revive the innings.

While Yuvraj slammed 60 off 41 balls with four fours and as many sixes, Yusuf remained unbeaten on 62 off 36 with four fours and five sixes as India posted 181 runs for the loss of four wickets in their 20 overs. In response, Sri Lanka Legends fought hard courtesy Sanath Jayasuriya and Kaushalya Weeraratne but they fell 14 runs short as India famously won the tournament.


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *