The first England-India Test will be played in Nottingham.

Prithvi Shaw
Prithvi Shaw. (Photo by Ryan Pierse/Getty Images)

The senior Indian team is currently in England gearing up for the five-match Test series against the home team. While the Indian side was playing the warm-up game in Durham, Avesh Khan and Washington Sundar got ruled out of the series due to their respective injuries. The incident pushed BCCI to call out for replacement as Shubman Gill was already out of the series.

In the latest turn of events, BCCI official added that Suryakumar Yadav, Prithvi Shaw alongside Jayant Yadav would be flying to England as replacements. While Gill suffered shin splints during the World Test Championship Final against New Zealand, Avesh Khan has dislocated his thumb. On the other hand, Sundar has aggravated his finger injury. One of the BCCI officials confirmed the development around Suryakumar, Shaw, and Jayant Yadav.

“Yes, Prithvi, Surya, and Jayant will be flying to England. Whether they will fly in the middle of the T20 Internationals (Prithvi and Surya are part of team in Sri Lanka) or post that is being worked out. But yes, these three are our replacement players for the Test series in England. They might just leave after the three T20 Internationals but we will get a confirmation in another three days,” said the official as quoted by The Indian Express.

Suryakumar Yadav flaunted class in Sri Lanka

It has to be noted that SKY has impressed the selectors with his current rhythm in the ODI series against Sri Lanka. As India won the ODI series 2-1, Yadav was declared as the man of the series for his exemplary batting show. On the other hand, Shaw also appears in red-hot form and might be useful in the UK. All-rounder, Jayant Yadav. who already has a Test hundred will be the one to watch out for.

As Ajinkya Rahane is currently nursing his hamstring injury, the young cricketers might get their chances. However, if Rahane isn’t fit for the Nottingham Test, KL Rahul is most likely to take up his job. India’s five-match Test series against England will mark the commencement of the 2021-23 cycle of the World Test Championship.


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *