The new 100-ball tournament is all set to attract a lot of eyeballs.

The Hundred
The Hundred: Team names and logos. (Photo Source: The Hundred)

After having got delayed due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the England and Wales Cricket Board’s (ECB) highly anticipated The Hundred Men’s cricket tournament is finally all set to commence from July 22. This tournament is undoubtedly hogging a lot of attention already owing to its intriguing format.

The Hundred tournament will have eight teams which are based in seven different cities and two teams from London. Birmingham Phoenix (Edgbaston), London Spirit (Lord’s), Manchester Originals (Emirates Old Trafford), Northern Superchargers (Emerald Headingley), Oval Invincibles (Kia Oval), Southern Brave (Ageas Bowl), Trent Rockets (Trent Bridge), and Welsh Fire (Sophia Gardens) will be the eight teams that will battle it out against each other in the tournament. These teams will include both the men’s and women’s squads with each side comprising 15 players.

According to The Hundred’s official website, each innings will have 100 balls. A spell of ten balls will form an over and a bowler can either bowl 5 of it or all the ten, however, the captain will make the decision about the same. One bowler can bowl a maximum of 20 balls in the match.

Where to watch The Hundred?

What further garners the audacity of the tournament is the players that are featuring in it. Joe Root, Ben Stokes, Rashid Khan, Quinton de Kock, Faf du Plessis, Sunil Narine, Eoin Morgan, Moeen Ali, and Jonny Bairstow are some of the key players who would feature in this frenetic format. Also, Harmanpreet Kaur, Smriti Mandhana, Shafali Verma, Deepti Sharma, and Jemimah Rodrigues are the five Indian players across the women’s teams who will take the charge of the field.

The Hundred Cricket tournament will be played at various venues in England. The Hundred tournament can be viewed on Fan Code. In this tournament, each team will play against the other seven teams once and also there would be an additional game before the top three teams progress to the final. For the inaugural game, Oval Invincibles and Manchester Originals will lock horns against each other at the Kia Oval.

Also read – The Hundred Men’s 2021: Team-wise guide with schedule, squads and players to watch out for


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *